Christian College for the Future.

I am posting from the north american christian convention in orlando. I have been talking with my friends who are presidents and leaders in other christian institutions of higher learning. Many are discouraged right now. Financial pressures are huge. New regulations on the federal and state level are coming down all the time. Much of this is caused by competition from for profit
institutions of higher education. Old models of college don’t work and this includes degree completion programs and many online programs.
The challenge is how to train ministry for the church of the future especially for those in the millennial generation. I believe a strong Bible foundation has to be the core of this education. but this cannot be the Bible education of our grandfathers or even our fathers.
We need to adapt to the world of today including social media and digital resources. this is why at nebraska christian college we are introducing a curriculum that includes the logos bible software. We are looking at a degree in online ministry. This is just a beginning. We must train students for ministry in the church of the future and that is a very broad range.
Mark Krause
Nebraska Christian College

2 thoughts on “Christian College for the Future.

  1. I am curious how the process of training students for ministry in the church is changing as it seems there is much less allegiance to a particular denomination in the current culture than there used to be… at least that’s my sense. I’ve been in Moses Lake now for 23 years, so I don’t really have a broad perspective of what’s happening in the church, but it seems to be the case that people are not choosing a church primarily on the basis of the doctrinal position of that church. I am wondering how that impacts the way that colleges are preparing students?

    I appreciate what you’re saying about a strong biblical foundation being at the core of whatever is happening. One thing that I appreciate about the roots of the Restoration Movement, at least theoretically, is the idea that there is high emphasis placed on scripture rather than creeds or particular denominational doctrinal statements. I think there are times when we (Christian Church) have shunned the creeds too much… but my education in regard to keeping the scripture central has been a blessing to me over the years, and has given me the freedom, whether intended or not, to not be “labeled.” I was a candidate for a church in Budapest about ten years ago or so, and the reason that I didn’t get the job was that “they didn’t have a problem with any of our theological discussions or my positions (multiple papers & a week long personal interview) but they didn’t know how to label me.” I really wanted the job… but I liked the reason that they didn’t give it to me.

    • I agree that there is little denominational loyalty among folks today. I would say it is almost non-existent among Christians who are under 30. This is reflected in our student body, and in the student body of almost every Christian or Bible college. This is also part of the challenge in training a new generation of ministers. I think we can get the Bible and theology part right, but fail on the professional side, the ministry side. This is all part of it.

      And I agree we have shunned the creeds too much. My teacher, Dr. Bryant, used to say, “There is nothing wrong with creeds if you right them often enough.” What he meant was the creeds were always historically conditioned, a product of their time. For the next generation they didn’t work. They were responses to issues that no longer existed.

      MK

Leave a Reply

