Millennial Views

I am speaking the week for the “Week of Missions” conference at Camp Winema on the beautiful Oregon coast. Yesterday, my wife Susan and I toured the famous Tillamook Cheese factory and learned that it produces about 167,000 pounds of cheese a day.

The theme of this conference is “The Everlasting Gospel,” and my Bible lectures have been on the book of Revelation. Today I will be speaking on Revelation 20, the only place in the Bible that speaks clearly about a 1,000 year reign of Christ (the “Millennium”). In my estimation, there are four primary millennial views. They are:

1. Traditional Premillennial View: Christ will return to establish a thousand-year kingdom of peace on earth.  After this will come the final Resurrection and Judgment. We could diagram it like this.

2. Dispensational Premillennial View: Christ will return to establish a thousand-year kingdom of peace on earth, but before this takes place the church will be “raptured” (removed from earth to heaven).  The thousand-year kingdom will be with the Jewish people.  After this will come the final Resurrection and Judgment. We could diagram this view this way:

3. Postmillennial View: The church will increase until it establishes the Kingdom of God on earth.  After a period of 1,000 years (which may be symbolic), there will be a final conflict between the forces of Good and Evil, and then will come the Final Resurrection and Judgment. Here is a diagram of this view:

4. Amillennial View: All of these references are symbolic.  The millennium is symbolic of the period between Christ’s first coming and his second coming. Here is how it might look as a timeline diagram:

Which one is the correct view? I’m not going to make that judgment, but I will be giving my opinion this morning. At the Bible Lecture. At Camp Winema. Hope to see you there.

Mark Krause
Nebraska Christian College

3 thoughts on “Millennial Views

  1. Mark,
    It was good speaking with you yesterday,

    Thank you for your thoughts. – Can you post your opinion that you share this morning at the Bible Lecture?

    Marty Fenton

    • Thanks, Marty, it was great to chat with you a little. I wish it had not been such a long time.

      I’m not sure which opinion you wanted, but I did share that my millennial position is “non-millennial.” I am very serious about this. We have done a lot of joking the past week about being “pro-millennial” or “pan-millennial,” but I don’t really think it is a joking matter. Churches have been divided over this, and people have lost their faith over this issue. I’m going to say more about it next week in a blog.

      MK

Leave a Reply

