Giant Theology: He Knows My Name

As I study Scripture and I try to grow in my relationship with the Lord, I realize that not all theological statements are created equal. I have noticed that sometimes, sermons are preached on trivial things. Biblical things. True things. But things that just are not very important. These might be blogged as “Theological Mistakes,” but I want to look at this more positively, so once in a while I would like to do a blog on “Giant Theology,” things that are very important.

Yesterday the church I attended used an older worship song by Tommy Walker, “He Knows My Name.” This brought back some memories for me of our men’s Bible Studies in Los Angeles with Westwood Hills Christian Church and Shepherd of the Hills West L.A. Church. Our group varied in size from about 20 to over 100 some times. A lot of the guys were from troubled backgrounds. Some lived at the V.A. Home and were recovering from addictions. Others were homeless or almost homeless. Others were employed in the entertainment industry and some had high paying jobs. All were looking for some acceptance and love. We did some singing each Wednesday night, and one of the songs we sang a lot was this one, “He Knows My Name.” Good song, but it meant more to some of these guys than it had meant for me. Think of it this way. If you are a homeless person, you are ignored by hundreds of persons every day on the street. You have probably burned all the relationship bridges with friends and family. No one cares if you live or die. But then you sing this song, “He Knows My Names,” and you realize that God still cares about you. He even knows your name. In a world where everyone has given up on you, the Creator of the Universe knows your name. That’s Big Theology.

Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription:
“The Lord knows those who are his … “
2 Timothy 2:19

Mark Krause
Nebraska Christian College

3 thoughts on “Giant Theology: He Knows My Name

  1. “I have a Father… He calls me His own… He’ll never leave me, not matter where I go…”

    Love this song… this may be a problem in the “giant theology” category, but nothing that I can think of informs my theology in a practical way more than understanding God as Father.” I know that doesn’t necessarily resonate with everyone, not everyone had a great experience with “father,” but it does resonate with me.

    Peace, John

Leave a Reply

