Giant Theology: Always Yes in Christ

I watched most of the presidential debate last night. I have not used this blog in political ways, so I will not comment on whom I thought won, but I was taken aback by the nastiness on display, two men who at one point looked like there might be a fist fight. Actually a little MMA between candidates might have been more entertaining and less depressing. 🙂 How have we gotten to this point? I’m not sure, but I don’t think it will get better any time soon. Maybe the next debate should be in an iron cage.

I was recently told of a college president who was visited by a “friend” of his college and told that if the college hired a certain person to be a faculty member, he would do everything he could to “destroy” that faculty member, that president, and that college. The man was hired, and the friend/enemy is making good on his threat. This man seems to me to be so filled with anger that maybe he should abandon the church and go into politics. Those things I cannot control I must destroy? Hardly a Christian sentiment.

The way I read the New Testament, the Christian faith is a positive faith. We sometimes forget this. We have every reason to be optimistic. Does our Father love us? Yes. Should we be afraid for tomorrow? No. Do we know how we should live? Yes. Should we fear death? No. Do our lives have meaning and purpose? Yes. Will God ever abandon us? No.

Paul, in a moment of depression (maybe what we would call “clinical depression” today) was very worried about his beloved brothers and sisters in the city of Corinth. In his second letter to this church group, he admitted to a time when he “despaired of life itself.” I don’t think Paul was a naturally optimistic or sunny person. It was his faith in Christ that gave him hope for the future, so much so that he could say everything is “Yes in Christ.” What a great idea! That’s Giant Theology, friends, all blessings from the Lord are Yes in Christ.

I found a statement on this published in the newsletter of the Lincoln Heights Christian Church in Phoenix a few years ago. I don’t know the author, but it goes like this:

When we are given our rewards, I would prefer:
To be found to have erred on the side of grace rather than judgment;
To have loved too much rather than too little;
To have forgiven the undeserving rather
      than refused forgiveness to one who deserved it;
To have fed a parasite rather than to have neglected one who was truly hungry;
To have been taken advantage of rather than to have taken undue advantage;
To have believed too much in my brothers [and sisters] rather than too little;
Having been on the side of too much trust than too much cynicism;
To have believed the best and been wrong,
     than to have believed the worst and been right.

Amen to that! Yes in Christ! Giant Theology.

Mark Krause
Nebraska Christian College

One thought on “Giant Theology: Always Yes in Christ

Leave a Reply

