Scholarly Blogging

wordpress-logo-stacked-rgbWordPress, the host of this blog, sends its people an end-of-the-year report on various activities. I have not been blogging for an entire year yet, but the report was fascinating. Here are some of the highlights:

  • I made 119 posts
  • There were 27,000 visits
  • Busiest day: 499 visits
  • Most read post: “Theological Mistakes: Apocalypse Now” (posted April 2012)
  • Second: “Theological Mistakes: My God, My God, Why have you forsaken me?” (posted February 2012). This one has had a lot of recent hits after the Newtown CT tragedy.
  • Total countries where visitors came from: 157, with America, Canada, and the U.K. being the top three. Many Muslim countries are in this number.

One of the most interesting results was the mention of this blog in Time Magazine last spring.

All of this began as a modest project, encouraged by Andrew Carlson and Brenden Lang of the Nebraska Christian College Admissions department. They wanted “professors who were blogging,” because they thought that might be attractive to potential students. I don’t know if I filled that bill, but it has been fun for me.

For me, this serves as an outlet for ministry and for scholarship. None of these posts are scholarship on the level of peer-reviewed articles or books such as I have published in the past. But some of them are serious discussions of timely topics. I have also tried to do reviews of some of the more popular books I am reading, and even had a few movie reviews. Many of the posts were devotional or inspirational, and a few were to honor the passing of such great Christian authors as Calvin Miller.

For the most part, I have stayed away from political topics. I have thought about starting another blog that would be strictly political. Those of you who know me personally know that I love politics and have strong views. But I don’t think I will do that, because posting this blog two or three times a week keeps me busy.

I have been invited to read a paper at the Stone Campbell Journal Conference on the topic of “Scholarly Blogging” in April. This will be held at David Lipscomb University in Nashville. I am a long-time consulting editor for this journal. If you are interested in attending the conference, follow this link.

So I hope to continue with this project. Thanks to all the loyal followers, and I hope to offer you something of value in 2013. And if your want to start your own WordPress blog, click here.

Mark Krause
Nebraska Christian College

 

Leave a Reply

